Mc2_Confipote “for red wine lovers”: black plums with star anise

Source: This recipe is from La Sélection Chartier 2011, p. 53

 

Preparation : 15min
Cooking : 25min
Servings : 4

Plums and star anise, along with numerous wines, all share dominant volatile compounds.

With this recipe, we wanted to demonstrate that the aromatic attraction between these compounds was strong enough, beyond the sweet taste, to attain the harmonic comfort zone with red wine. This recipe, half way between jam and compote, will surely delight you.

Moreover, you should note that other foods which are complementary to plums (smoked black tea, clove, cinnamon, lavender, pepper, basil, rose water, cranberry, blackcurrant and scotch) are all great leads to help you create your own versions of the Mc2_Confipote.

Ingredients

8 large black plums, very ripe
Superfine (caster) sugar
4 star anise

Preparation

1

Star anise infusion: in a saucepan, bring ½ cup of water to simmer. Place 2 star anise and let steep, covered, for 6 minutes. Filter and reserve.

2

Wash plums, remove stones, and cut into quarters.

3

In a mixing bowl, mix fruits with half their weight in sugar.

4

When sugar is completely dissolved, place mixture in a heavy bottom pot and add the star anise infusion.

5

On medium heat, bring to a boil for 10 minutes and add the last 2 star anise. Cook for another 5 minutes over medium heat and pour into a Masson jar. Close lid and let cool.

Aromatic Tricks

At the table

Use as lacquer or as a condiment for roasted pork tenderloin, as a garnish for a cheese plate – particularly with aged firm cheeses (such as very old gruyere and cheddar) if you wish to pair it with a red wine. You can also serve it for breakfast as a spread on toasts or as a topping for your morning yogurt.

The smoked black tea Lapsang Souchong version

You can also substitute the star anise infusion with half a teaspoon of black Lapsang Souchong tea. However, you still must add 2 star anise (step number 5 in directions), as they will appease the Confipote’s sweetness and soften the tannins of red wine, which in turn will lengthen its finish. You will have a Confipote that is subtly smoked, and will go perfectly well with oaky wines.

Confipote_Mc2 « pour amateur de vin rouge » : prunes noires à l’anis étoilé

La recette est tirée du livre La Sélection Chartier 2011

 

Préparation : 15 min
Cuisson : 25 min
Portions : 4

Comme la prune et l’anis étoilé partagent des molécules aromatiques dominantes, et que de nombreux vins partagent aussi ces mêmes composés volatils, nous avons voulu démontrer par cette recette, à mi-chemin entre la confiture et la compote, que l’attraction aromatique était assez forte, au-delà du goût sucré, pour permettre d’atteindre la zone de confort harmonique avec le vin rouge.

Notez que les autres aliments complémentaires à la prune (thé noir fumé, girofle, cannelle, lavande, poivre, basilic, eau de rose, canneberge, cassis et scotch) sont des pistes à partir desquelles vous pouvez créer vos propres versions de Confipote_Mc2..

Ingrédients

8 grosses prunes noires mûres
sucre semoule
4 étoiles d’anis étoilé

Préparation

Étape 1

Infusion d’anis étoilé : dans une casserole, placer 1/2 tasse d’eau à frémir. Déposer 2 étoiles d’anis et faire infuser, à couvert, pendant 6 minutes. Filtrer et réserver.

Étape 2

Laver, dénoyauter et couper les prunes en quatre.

Étape 3

Dans un saladier, mélanger les fruits avec la moitié de leur poids en sucre.

Étape 4

Lorsque le sucre est fondu, placer le tout dans une casserole à fond épais et ajouter l’infusion d’anis étoilé.

Étape 5

Faire bouillir à feu moyen pendant 10 minutes et ajouter les 2 autres étoiles d’anis étoilé, cuire encore 5 minutes à feu moyen et verser dans un pot Masson. Fermer et laisser refroidir..

Astuces Aromatiques

Utilisations à table

En laque sur un filet de porc rôti, ou en accompagnement de ce dernier, en garniture dans une assiette de fromages – spécialement avec les pâtes fermes âgées (comme les très vieux gruyère et cheddar) si vous recherchez l’accord avec un vin rouge –, ou, au petit-déjeuner, simplement sur une tranche de pain grillé ou sur un yogourt.

Version au thé noir fumé Lapsang Souchong : vous pouvez aussi remplacer l’infusion d’anis étoilé par une demi-cuillère à thé de thé noir fumé Lapsang Souchong, tout en ajoutant les 2 étoiles d’anis au numéro 5 de la préparation, ainsi vous aurez une deuxième version subtilement fumée, qui sied parfaitement aux vins boisés – ici l’anis étoilé est quand même important, car c’est lui qui calme le sucre de la recette et qui arrondit les tanins du vin rouge et qui lui donne de la longueur.

  Autres recettes du même ingrédient dominant

Cocktail El Dorado Prune Harbor
 

  Autres recettes du même liquide harmonique

Sandwich de canard confit, nigelle et feuilles de roquette