L’Olivier d’Anis

2013 Côtes-du-Rhône red, Les Vins Harmonies, France

Disponible chez

Varietals 30% Syrah
55% Grenache
15% Mourvèdre
Serving Tº 18 °C
Conservation Serve within five years of the purchase
Alc./ 13%
Format 750 ml
Carafe Carafe for 30 minutes prior to serving

French red wineAvailable in all IGA banner stores

Selected, assembled and aged by François Chartier «Créateur d’harmonies», at Domaine Jaume, 24, rue Reynarde, 26110 Vinsobres, France.

Complementary ingredients for a successful harmony

Pair this grenache-syrah-mourvèdre blend to your favorite recipes that include one or more of these ingredients: black pepper, black olives, lamb, red meats, smoked meats, thyme, star anise, licorice, carrots, caraway, fennel, turnips, parsley roots, tarragon, Jerusalem artichokes, mint, oregano, roasted root vegetable, and many more.

Comment

From the northernmost limit of this southern valley, obviously, because of the Vinsobres terroir, comes a fresh red wine that is reminiscent of certain syrahs from Saint-Joseph and Crozes-Hermitage, to the north, but without the jammy notes typical of the southern part of this region. What we have here is a wine with an aromatic profile on the path of syrah, with subtle and elegant notes of black pepper and black olives yet with a floral touch. Its mouth is broad and fresh, vivid and refined, with extra fine tannins, a moderate body and lengthy cherry, star anise, cocoa, black olives and black pepper flavors. A red wine could hardly be more palatable and authentic. But the best part is that this 55% grenache, 30% syrah and 15% mourvèdre blend elaborated at Domaine Jaume, in Vinsobres, will gain in aromatic complexity and creaminess in the few months following its purchase, and it will keep evolving over the next three to five years. Serve between 16 and 18 °C, depending on the season, after a 30 minute stay in a carafe. Will resonate magnificently with black olives and black pepper pasta, as well as with a leg of lamb seasoned with thyme.

Origin / Terroir / Vinification

Originates mainly from the hillsides of the Vinsobres AOC, but a small proportion of the lots used originate from the non-AOC bordering zones. The Domaine Jaume, in Vinsobres, practices ultra-sustainable viticulture. For this wine, I made a decision to avoid cask aging, because I wanted to let the freshness of the terroir — the northernmost of the South — and of the syrah shine through, that varietal being complemented with grenache and mourvèdre. I wanted to avoid obfuscating the typicality of those argillocalcareous hillsides, of the fresher climate and of the varietals used in this blend, especially the beautiful syrah and its effluvia of black olives and star anise, hence the Olivier d’Anis

Recipe ideas

– BLACK OLIVES PASTA

– BLACK OLIVE POMADE BRUSCHETTA

– BLACK OLIVES, ONION AND ANCHOVY PISSALADIÈRE

– BLACK OLIVES PIZZA

– BLACK OLIVES STUFFED LEG OF LAMB

– SMOKED MEAT SANDWICH

– THYME RACK OF LAMB

– ROASTED ROOT VEGETABLES WITH STAR ANISE

– LAMB MOUSSAKA

– TARRAGON POT-AU-FEU

– TARRAGON CHICKEN

– TURNIP AND CARAWAY SOUP

– BRAISED FENNEL BULB WITH ANISE

Chartier/Modat Recipes

Don’t forget the 800+ recipes in the 4 volumes of the Papilles pour tous! recipes collection, where you’ll find many recipes on the same aromatic path as this red wine from the Rhône valley. Stay tuned for more recipes created specifically for this wine on this Website in the coming weeks.

AROMATIC FAMILIES THAT INSPIRED THE CREATION OF L’OLIVIER D’ANIS

rhone

L’Olivier d’Anis

2013 Côtes-du-Rhône rouge, Les Vins Harmonies, France

Disponible chez

Cépages 30% Syrah
55% Grenache
15% Mourvèdre
Tº de service 18 °C
Conservation Servir dans les six années suivant la mise en marché
Alc./ 13%
Format 750 ml
Carafe Oxygéner en carafe 30 minutes avant le service

Vin rouge, Disponible chez les Marchés IGA

Sélectionné, assemblé et élevé par François Chartier «Créateur d’harmonies», au Domaine Jaume, 24, rue Reynarde, 26110 Vinsobres, France.

Aliments complémentaires pour cuisine et pour réussir l’harmonie

Mariez cet assemblage grenache-syrah-mourvèdre à vos recettes préférées incluant l’un ou plusieurs de ces ingrédients: poivre, olive noire, agneau, viande rouge, viande fumée, thym, anis étoilé, réglisse, carotte, carvi, fenouil, panais, racine de persil, estragon, topinambour, menthe, origan, légumes racines rôtis et plusieurs autres.

Commentaire

Dans cette limite nord de la vallée méridionale, altitude des terroirs de Vinsobres oblige, il en résulte un rouge plus frais, rappelant certaines syrahs de Saint-Joseph et de Crozes-Hermitage au nord, sans les notes confiturées de l’extrême sud. Donc, un vin au profil aromatique sur la piste de la syrah, aux notes subtiles et élégantes de poivre noir et d’olive noire, avec une touche florale, à la bouche à la fois ample et fraîche, expressive et raffinée, aux tanins extrafins, au corps d’amplitude modérée, aux longues saveurs de cerise, d’anis étoilé, de cacao, d’olive noire et de poivre. Difficile d’être plus digeste et authentique. Le plus beau, c’est que cet assemblage à 55% grenache, 30% syrah et 15% mourvèdre, élaboré au Domaine Jaume, à Vinsobres, va gagner en complexité aromatique et en crémeux de bouche au cours des prochains mois, après son achat, tout en évoluant sur trois à cinq ans de la date de sa mise en marché. Servir entre 16 et 18 °C, tout dépendant de la saison, après un passage de 30 minutes en carafe. Résonne haut et fort, entre autres, sur des pâtes aux olives noires et au poivre, ainsi que sur un gigot d’agneau au thym.

Origine/Terroirs/Élaboration

Provient en grande partie des coteaux de l’AOC Vinsobres, mais une petite partie des lots vient des zones limitrophes non classées en AOC. Le Domaine Jaume, de Vinsobres, travaille en culture ultraraisonnée. Ici, j’ai fait le choix de n’effectuer aucun élevage en fût, mon désir étant de laisser parler la fraîcheur du lieu et du cépage syrah, complété par le grenache et le mourvèdre, dans cette zone (Vinsobres) «la plus nordique du sud». Je ne voulais pas cacher la typicité des coteaux argilocalcaires, du climat plus frais et des cépages de cet assemblage, plus particulièrement de la belle et aromatique syrah, qui embaume l’olive noire et l’anis, comme un Olivier d’Anis ☺

Idées de recettes

-PÂTES AUX OLIVES NOIRES

-BRUSCHETTA À LA PURÉE D’OLIVES NOIRES

-PISSALADIÈRE AUX OLIVES NOIRES/OIGNONS/ANCHOIS

-PIZZA AUX OLIVES NOIRES

-GIGOT D’AGNEAU FARCI AUX OLIVES NOIRES

-« SMOKED MEAT »

-CARRÉ D’AGNEAU AU THYM

-LÉGUMES-RACINES AU FOUR À L’ANIS ÉTOILÉ

-MOUSSAKA D’AGNEAU

-POT-AU-FEU À L’ESTRAGON

-POULET À L’ESTRAGON

-SOUPE DE PANAIS AU CARVI

-BULBE DE FENOUIL BRAISÉ À L’ANIS

Recettes Chartier/Modat

N’oubliez pas les 800 recettes de la collection de livres en 4 volumes, Papilles pour tous!, où de multiples recettes sont sur la piste aromatique de ce vin de la vallée du Rhône. Aussi, découvrez sur ce site, au fil des prochaines semaines, de nouvelles recettes créées de toutes pièces pour ce vin.

FAMILLE(S) AROMATIQUE(S) AYANT INSPIRÉ L’OLIVIER D’ANIS  rhone