L’épine de la rose

2015 Pays d’Oc I.G.P., Les Vins Harmonies, French rosé wine

View Video

Disponible chez

Varietals 60% grenache noir (old vines), 40% syrah
Serving T° 12 °C
Conservation Serve within two years of the vintage
Alc./ 12, 5 %
Format 750 ml

Selected, assembled and aged in France by Sélections Chartier at Clos des Augustins, Pic Saint-Loup, Saint-Mathieu-de-Tréviers, Languedoc.

The Origins of the Name « L’Épine de la Rose »

“L’Épine” (thorn): because of a rose’s thorns, obviously, but also in reference to the prickly flavours of Asian and Mexican cuisines which pair perfectly with this rosé’s aromatic profile.

“de la Rose”: in reference to the wine’s floral flavours and colour, as well as to all the ingredients that share aromas with roses and which perfectly pair with this wine.

Comments

The brand new L’épine de la Rose vintage of dry rosé wine is the 5th in the Vins Harmonies range now available at your IGA Grocery store. This vintage was born of the gorgeous 2015 Mediteranean crop and elaborated by François Chartier in collaboration with Bordeaux oenologist Pascal Chatonnet at Clos des Augustins, a ORGANIC (biodynamic) culture domain located in the Pic Saint-Loup appellation of the Languedoc region. At once full-flavoured, complex and smooth ­ thanks to a selection of very old grenache noir vines rounded out with a higher proportion of syrah to spice-up and invigorate its aromatic profile—, this rosé will undoubtedly become another consumer favourite among the wines created by producer and wine vintner-merchant Chartier Créateur d’harmonies! François Chartier has indeed become a reference in rosé wines in Québec. For three consecutive years, one of his rosé wines was selected in the top three best rosés of the year available in Québec by wine critics.

Origin/Terroir/Vinification

Originates mainly from the Pic Saint-Loup AOC and some neighbouring zones. The Mezy family’s Clos des Augustins domain subscribes to biodynamic culture principles and comprises rich terroirs, some hotter than others, composed of red clay over worn pebbles that yield superbly mature fruits on the vine, despite the brisk nights of this area located north of Montpellier. Young and old vines as well as different types of terroir were involved in the creation of this cuvée born of a direct pressing and a specific aging that gives it the distinctive smooth palate tha makes it stand out among the vast majority of rosés. As for all the other wines by Chartier, Bordeaux oenologist Pascal Chatonnet was involved in all creative stages, as were, in this case, Clos des Augustins’ wine-growers and oenologists Frédéric and Pauline Mezy.

Complementary Foods to Pair with the Rosé

As a vintner and merchant, Chartier’s idea behind the elaboration of this rosé was to create a gastronomy wine that will pair with the flavourful ingredients of summer cuisine as well as bottle age over a period of two years, giving it even more aromatic complexity and texture, which will allow it to be paired with the warmer fall and winter cuisines.

You can pair this rosé to your favourite dishes that include one or more of these ingredients: saffron, Sriracha sauce and other hot sauces, salmon and trout, fish or red meat tartares, and all your favourite summer dishes, even the spiciest ones! Let’s not forget shrimps and langoustines, calamari and squid, tuna, fresh and sundried tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, potatoes and other grilled vegetables, bean sprouts, grilled white meats, basil, pink grapefruit juice, peanuts, roasted sesame oil, olive oil, paprika, pimenton, Espelette pepper, hot peppers, rose water, and red apples. No matter what you cook that incorporates two or more of these ingredients, you will create a perfect harmony both in your dish and between that dish and your glass of wine, provided it is L’Épine de la Rose!

Recipe Ideas

—Salmon or trout papillotte with orange and pink grapefruit*

—Black tea, raspberry, basil and Chartier’s rosé cocktail-pitcher*

–Pan Bagnat (Tuna, tomato, olive oil, etc., sandwich)*

—GRILLED SALMON FILET WITH SUNDRIED TOMATO PESTO*

—Beef tartar with shiitake mushrooms, marinated beets and parmesan curls*

—PASTA WITH SUNDRIED TOMATO PESTO*

–GRILLED SALMON FILET WITH SUNDRIED TOMATO PESTO.

—TOMATO, BASIL AND OLIVE OIL SOUP*

–WATERMELON, SHRIMP, CHERRY TOMATO AND PAPRIKA OIL SKEWERS*

–COLD SHRIMP SALAD WITH PINK GRAPEFRUIT VINAIGRETTE*

—Tomato and paprika tartar “with or without” shrimp and pink grapefruit juice*

–Lobster roll-type lobster with saffron and rosé mayonnaise*

–Shrimp for Chartier’s rosé*

–Exotic vegetables and shrimp chips for Chartier’s rosé! *

–Salmon or trout papillotte with orange and pink grapefruit*

—SAFFRON PAËLLA

–SALMON TROUT AND FRESH TOMATO SALSA

–GRILLED CHICKEN WITH BASIL PESTO.

—VEAL BURGER WITH SUNDRIED TOMATOES

–GRILLED CALAMARI SALAD WITH PINK GRAPEFRUIT AND ESPELETTE PEPPER VINAIGRETTE.

—CHICKEN AND GRILLED VEGETABLES SALAD WITH HOT PEPPERS.

—OVEN-BAKED LANGOUSTINE WITH SAFFRON BUTTER.

—BASIL PESTO PASTA

–BEAN SPROUTS AND GRILLED VEGETABLE SALAD.

—GOAT CHEESE SALAD WITH BASIL OIL

–TUNA SANDWICH.

—THAI CUISINE.

—MEXICAN CUISINE

*Recipes available on this site.

CHARTIER/MODAT Recipes

Don’t forget the 800 recipes available in the four-volume Papilles pour tous! collection, many of which are on the aromatic path of this rosé. New recipes created specifically for this new rosé wine will also be available here soon.

Video

Recipes

L’épine de la rose

2015 Pays d’Oc I.G.P., Les Vins Harmonies, Vin rosé de France

Voir la vidéo

Disponible chez

Cépages 60 % grenache noir (vieilles vignes), 40 % syrah
T° de service 12 °C
Conservation Servir dans les deux années suivant le millésime
Alc./ 12, 5 %
Format 750 ml

Sélectionné, assemblé et élevé en France par Sélections Chartier, au Clos des Augustins, Pic Saint-Loup, Saint-Mathieu-de-Tréviers, France.

Origine du nom « L’Épine de la Rose »

« L’Épine » : pour les épines de la rose bien sûr, mais aussi pour faire référence aux saveurs piquantes des cuisines asiatiques et mexicaines qui se marient merveilleusement bien au profil de ce vin rosé.

« de la Rose » : pour faire référence à ses parfums floraux, ainsi qu’à sa couleur et à tous les ingrédients partageant des arômes avec la rose et qui s’accordent parfaitement avec ce vin rosé.

Commentaires

Cette toute nouvelle cuvée de vin rosé sec qu’est L’Épine de la Rose, 5e vin de la gamme Les Vins Harmonies, est maintenant disponible chez vos Marchands IGA. Elle est née du superbe millésime méditerranéen 2015, et a été élaborée par François Chartier, avec la complicité de l’œnologue bordelais Pascal Chatonnet, au Clos des Augustins — un domaine en culture BIO (biodynamie) situé dans l’appellation languedocienne de Pic Saint-Loup. À la fois parfumée, soutenue, complexe et satinée — grâce à la sélection de très vieilles vignes de grenache noir, complétée par une plus forte proportion de syrah, question d’épicer et de tonifier son profil aromatique —, ce rosé sera assurément un autre chouchou des consommateurs parmi les vins élaborés par le producteur négociant-éleveur Chartier Créateur d’harmonies ! Il faut savoir que François Chartier est devenu l’une des références au Québec en matière de vin rosé ! En effet, pendant trois années consécutives, l’un de ses vins rosés a été classé parmi les trois meilleurs rosés de l’année disponibles au Québec par les chroniqueurs en vins !

Origine/Terroirs/Élaboration

Provient en grande partie de l’AOC Pic Saint-Loup, ainsi que de certaines zones limitrophes. Le domaine Clos des Augustins de la famille Mezy travaille en BIO (biodynamie) et est riche de terroirs, dont certains plus chauds, composés d’argile rouge sur galets roulés qui permettent une superbe maturité de fruit à la vigne, et ce, malgré les nuits très fraîches de cette région au nord de Montpellier. Jeunes et vieilles vignes, sur différents types de terroirs, participent à la création de cette cuvée née d’un pressurage direct, et d’un élevage particulier afin de lui procurer cette patine en bouche qui le singularise de la grande majorité des rosés. Comme pour tous les vins signés par Chartier, l’œnologue bordelais Pascal Chatonnet participe à toutes les étapes du travail, sans oublier Frédéric et Pauline Mezy, viticulteurs et œnologues au Clos des Augustins.

Aliments complémentaires pour réussir l’harmonie rosé et mets

L’idée du « négociant-éleveur » qu’est Chartier derrière l’élaboration de ses vins rosés est de créer des rosés de gastronomie, pensés et élaborés pour s’unir aux aliments parfumés de la cuisine estivale et pouvant aussi évoluer sur deux ans en bouteille afin de gagner en complexité aromatique et en texture, permettant ainsi des harmonies avec les cuisines plus chaleureuses de l’automne et de l’hiver.

Mariez ce rosé à vos recettes préférées incluant l’un ou plusieurs de ces ingrédients : safran, sauce Sriracha et autres sauces piquantes, saumon et truite saumonée, tout comme les tartares de poisson ou de viande rouge, ainsi que vos repas d’été — même les plus épicés ! –, sans oublier crevettes, langoustines, calmar, pieuvre, thon, tomate fraîche et séchée, mozzarella fraîche, pomme de terre et légumes grillés, fèves de soja germées, viandes blanches grillées, basilic, jus de pamplemousse rose, arachide, huile de sésame grillé, huile d’olive, paprika, pimenton, piment d’Espelette, piment fort, eau de rose, pomme rouge. Peu importe ce que vous cuisinerez avec deux ou plus de ces ingrédients, l’harmonie sera toujours au rendez-vous, tant dans l’assiette, qu’entre l’assiette et le verre – à condition que se soit un verre de cette cuvée L’Épine de la Rose !

Idées de recettes

– PAËLLA AU SAFRAN.

– TRUITE SAUMONÉE ET SALSA DE TOMATES FRAÎCHES.

– POULET GRILLÉ AU PESTO DE BASILIC.

– BURGER DE VEAU AUX TOMATES SÉCHÉES.

– SALADE DE CALMARS GRILLÉS, VINAIGRETTE AU JUS DE PAMPLEMOUSSE ROSE ET PIMENT D’ESPELETTE.

– SALADE DE POULET, LÉGUMES GRILLÉS ET PIMENT FORT.

– LANGOUSTINE AU FOUR, BEURRE AU SAFRAN.

– PÂTES AU PESTO DE BASILIC.

– SALADE DE FÈVES DE SOJA GERMÉES AUX LÉGUMES GRILLÉES.

– SALADED E FROMAGE DE CHÈVRE À L’HUILE DE BASILIC.

– SANDWICH AU THON.

– CUISINE THAÏE.

– CUISINE MEXICAINE.

Recettes CHARTIER/MODAT

N’oubliez pas les 800 recettes de la collection Papilles pour tous ! en 4 volumes dont bon nombre sont sur la piste aromatique de ce vin rosé. Vous pourrez également régulièrement découvrir sur ce site de nouvelles recettes créées pour ce nouveau vin rosé.

Video

Recettes