Le Blanc 2014 Pays D’Oc I.G.P. Chartier Créateur d’harmonies, France

WHITE WINE BOTTLED IN FRANCE BY SÉLECTIONS CHARTIER INC INC. AT CLOS DES AUGUSTINS, PIC SAINT-LOUP, SAINT-MATHIEU-DE-TRÉVIERS, LANGUEDOC.

View Video

SAQ : 12068117

Price 18.60 $
Varietals 60 % Chardonnay
20 % Grenache Blanc
15 % Roussanne
5 % Vioignier
Serving Tº 14 °C (cool rather than cold)
Conservation Serve within five years of the vintage
Alc. 13 %
Sugar content 1.7 grams per litre (very dry)
Format 750 ml

Discover the recipes for this wine

Selected, assembled, aged and bottled in France by Sélections Chartier Inc. at Clos des Augustins, Pic Saint-Loup, Saint-Mathieu-de-Tréviers, Languedoc.

Just as my new Rosé 2015 Chartier, which is the result of a newfound maturity in my work as a producer, wine vintner and merchant from the vine to the cellar—, and with the help of my usual collaborators, the Mezy family and Pascal Chatonnet, the 2014 vintage of my Langedoc white displays the same noticeable evolution. The bottles are now decorated with new labels that express the importance of the terroir in my new approach, and this new white wine, which was born of the 2014 exceptional Languedoc vintage, distinguishes itself from its two forebears that I had elaborated by a higher proportion of Chardonnay as well as the use of the highly aromatic and textured Viognier varietal for the first time. As for its forebears, also, this vintage was elaborated at Clos des Augustins, a biodynamic culture domain located in the Pic Saint-Loup appellation. It’s higher proportion of Chardonnay from noble origins as well as the use of Viognier give this vintage a more intense aromatic richness and a rounder body. Apricots, peaches, white flowers, honey and coconut are all part of its aromatic profile. And just as my new Rosé Chartier, also elaborated at this Domaine, this with is more textured and generous than its forebears, but just as perfumed and penetrating with its long mineral finish imparted by the mineralized and fossilized limestone of the various terroirs in this cutting edge domain. It is, more than ever, a great gastronomy white.

Comments

This, more than ever, is a white wine for red wine lovers! It is a Languedoc vintage from the Pic Saint-Loup appellation zone where is located the Mézy family’s Clos des Augustins and it is dominated by Chardonnay to which I’ve added grenache blanc, roussanne and, for the first time, Viognier, yielding a more richly aromatic white wine with more volume on the palate. Apricots, peaches, white flowers, honey and coconut are all part of its aromatic profile. Its mineralized and fossilized limestone terroirs also impart to it a long mineralized finish. It is complex and refined and a delight to drink, especially if you serve it cool rather than cold, between 14 and 15 º C, ideally after spending about 10 minutes in a carafe.

Origin / Terroirs / Vinification

Originates mainly from the Pic Saint-Loup AOC. Soils: Chardonnay from marly limestone (mineralized and fossilized), grenache blanc (45 year-old vines) and roussanne from conglomerates and Viognier from argillaceous limestone. Moreover, the Mézy family’s Clos des Augustins domain is a biodynamic viticulture operation. The Chardonnay, roussanne and Viognier were vinified in barrels over fine lees, while the grenache blanc from very old (45+ years old) vines was vinified in casks over lees for 6 months.

Complementary Foods

Pair this dry white wine with your favourite recipes containing one or more of the following ingredients: lobster, crab, salmon, salmon trout, pork, chicken, apricots, peaches, honey, coconut, Camembert and brie type cheeses, brown rice, pecans, maple syrup, pineapple, yellow apples, butter, caramelized onions, curry, and many more. It will shine served with a pork tenderloin and its fruity salsa (apricots/peaches), as well as with a platter of soft flowered rind cheeses with roasted pecans.

Chartier/Modat Recipes

Don’t forget the 800 recipes available in the four-volume Papilles pour tous! collection, many of which are on the aromatic path of this white wine, as well as in the books Les Recettes de Papilles et Molécules and L’Essentiel de Chartier. You can also find new recipes inspired by and for this wine right on this web site. It is regularly updated with new recipes, so be sure to visit often!

Technical Sheet

Download the technical sheet.
.

Video

Recipes

  • Grilling spices reimagined for white wines

    Préparation : 10 min
    Cuisson : 5 min

    • Dominant IngredientsGrilled spices
    • Liquid HarmonicsChardonnay
    • Families AromaticChêne et barriques @en, Oak and barrels
    • Molecule DominantsDimethyl-Pirazines @en, Dimethylpyrazine
  • Curry Oil and Celery Leaves Grilled Lobster

    Préparation : 45min
    Cuisson : 30min
    Portion : 4

    • Dominant IngredientsLobster
    • Liquid HarmonicsChardonnay
    • Families AromaticSotolon
    • Molecule DominantsLactones

Le Blanc 2014 Pays D’Oc I.G.P. Chartier Créateur d’harmonies, France

VIN BLANC, mis en bouteille au Clos des Augustins, Pic Saint-Loup, France

Voir la vidéo

SAQ : 12068117

Prix 18,60 $
Cépages 60 % Chardonnay
20 % Grenache Blanc
15 % Roussanne
5 % Vioignier
Tº de service 14 °C (plus frais que froid)
Conservation Servir dans les cinq années suivant le millésime
Alc. 13 %
Taux de sucre 1,7 grammes par litre (très sec)
Format 750 ml

Recettes par et pour ce vin

Sélectionné, assemblé, élevé et mis en bouteilles en France par Sélections Chartier inc., au Clos des Augustins, Famille Mezy, Pic Saint-Loup, Saint-Mathieu-de-Tréviers, France.

Dans la lignée du nouveau Rosé 2015 Chartier, qui reflète la maturité de mon travail de producteur de vin « négociant-éleveur » — à la vigne comme à la cave —, aidé par mes complices (la famille Mezy et Pascal Chatonnet), le millésime 2014 de mon vin blanc languedocien signe une évolution tout aussi marquante qu’avec mon rosé. Habillée de nouvelles étiquettes qui expriment l’importance du terroir dans ma démarche ce nouveau vin blanc, né de l’exceptionnel millésime languedocien 2014, se démarque des deux précédents millésimes, que j’avais élaborés, par une plus forte proportion de chardonnay, ainsi que par l’utilisation, pour la première fois, du plus qu’aromatique et texturé viognier. Comme par le passé pour ce cru, j’ai élaboré cette nouvelle cuvée au Clos des Augustins, un domaine en culture BIO (biodynamie) situé dans l’appellation Pic Saint-Loup. Sa plus forte proportion de chardonnay de nobles origines, tout comme la présence de viognier, procurent à cette cuvée une richesse aromatique plus intense et un corps plus gras. Abricot, pêche, fleurs blanches, miel et noix de coco participent au profil aromatique. À l’image du nouveau Rosé Chartier, que j’élabore dans le même domaine, ce blanc est aussi plus texturé et plus généreux que ses prédécesseurs, mais toujours aussi parfumé et pénétrant, avec cette longue finale minéralisante provenant des calcaires minéralisés et fossilisés des différents terroirs de ce domaine de pointe. Plus que jamais un grand vin blanc de gastronomie.

Commentaires

Plus que jamais un blanc pour amateur de vin rouge ! Donc, un cru du Languedoc, plus précisément de la zone d’appellation de Pic Saint-Loup, où est situé le Clos des Augustins, de la famille Mézy, avec qui j’élabore ce vin, dominé de chardonnay, a quoi s’ajoute le grenache blanc, la roussanne et, pour la première fois, le viognier, résultant en un blanc d’une plus grande richesse aromatique que par le passé, ainsi que par un volume de bouche plus imposant. Abricot, pêche, fleurs blanches, miel et noix de coco participent au profil aromatique. Les terroirs calcaires minéralisés et fossilisés lui procurent aussi une signature minéralisante qui persiste longuement en fin de bouche. Complexité, raffinement et plaisir à boire, surtout si vous avez la bonne idée de le servir plus frais que froid, soit à 14-15 °C, après un court passage en carafe de 10 minutes.

Origine / Terroirs / Élaboration

Provient en grande partie de l’AOC Pic Saint-Loup. Sols : chardonnay sur calcaire marneux (minéralisés et fossilisés), grenache blanc (vieilles vignes de 45 ans) et roussanne sur conglomérats, ainsi que viognier sur calcaire argileux. Le domaine Clos des Augustins, de la famille Mézy, travaille en culture BIO (biodynamie). Le chardonnay, la roussanne et le viognier ont été vinifiés en foudres sur lies fines, et le grenache blanc (très vieilles vignes de 45 ans et plus) a été vinifié en barriques, sur lies, pour une durée de 6 mois.

Aliments complémentaires

Mariez ce vin blanc sec à vos recettes préférées, incluant l’un ou plusieurs de ces ingrédients : homard, crabe, saumon, truite saumonée, porc, poulet, abricot, pêche, miel, noix de coco, fromages de type camembert et brie, riz brun, pacane, sirop d’érable, ananas, pomme jaune, beurre, oignon caramélisé, curry et plusieurs autres. Fera des éclats, par exemple, sur un filet de porc à la salsa fruitée (abricots/pêches), tout comme en compagnie d’une assiette de fromages à pâte molle à croûte fleurie, escortés de pacanes grillées.

Recettes Chartier/Modat

N’oubliez pas les 800 recettes de la collection de livres en 4 volumes, Papilles pour tous !, où vous y dénicherez de multiples recettes sur la piste aromatique de ce vin blanc, tout comme dans les livres Les Recettes de Papilles et Molécules et L’Essentiel de Chartier. Aussi, découvrez sur ce site, de nouvelles recettes inspirées par et pour ce vin. Des mises a jour sont effectuées régulièrement avec de nouvelles recettes, donc revenez consulter ce site régulièrement.

Fiche technique

Téléchargez la fiche technique.

Video

Recettes

FAMILLE(S) AROMATIQUE(S) AYANT INSPIRÉ LE BLANC DE CHARTIER blanc